Your cart is empty
The Gravity Of Love [Paperback-2018]
Sara Stridsberg
Available
List Price :     £8.99
Our Price :     Rs.875.00   Rs.437
You Save :     438 (50%)

Payment

Delivery

Free delivery across Pakistan on order of Rs.1000 and above

Pre-payment {Credit Card [Visa & Master], Easy Paisa, Bank Transfer}
Cash on Delivery

Within 2-3 days on all pre-paid orders
Within 7-10 days on all Cash on Delivery orders
Same day delivery in Lahore on orders placed till 1 pm [working days only]

More Buying Options:

Paperback-NEW

Rs. 737
Description

Category:LiteratureLiterary FictionLiterary Fiction-Lfi
Publisher: Maclehose Press Uk | ISBN: 9780857054784 | Pages: 400

A dazzlingly inventive and acclaimed novel set in a Stockholm psychiatric hospital - by one of Sweden s most exciting literary talents "I ll put my head in the oven so you know where I am," he whispers, kissing her neck. Jim - charming, captivating, much loved by his women friends - has attempted suicide several times. Over his period of incarceration at the Beckomberga hospital for the mentally unstable, he voices his determination to succeed. Some day soon, he tells his daughter - as he has earlier told his mother and his wife - he will swallow sixty tablets, help them down with a bottle of whisky, and swim impossibly far out into the Atlantic. Will he, really? This question plagues Jim s daughter, the narrator of this powerful novel, who is as addicted to the hospital as her father is to alcohol. Through her subtle observations we understand the emotional needs of diehard alcoholics, the rationally uxoricidal, and other seemingly normal inhabitants of a psychiatric unit in the process of shutting down, depriving them of the only place they have known as home. A Magic Mountain for our times, for readers of Eimear McBride and Alexander Masters. Translated from the Swedish by Deborah Bragan-Turn

About the Author

Sara Stridsberg, born in 1972, is a writer and playwright. Her first novel Happy Sally was published in 2004, and her break-through came two years later with the publication of The Faculty of Dreams, her second novel. Her latest novel, Darling River, was published in 2010. In addition to several, important prizes (see below) she has been shortlisted to the prestigious August Prize three times, most recently. in 2012 for her collection of plays, Medealand and other plays. Sara Stridsberg lives in Stockholm.

Also by the Same Author
View All
the gravity of lov...

[Paperback-2019]

sara stridsber
Rs. 737

Bestsellers in This Category

The Time Machin...

[Paperback-2016]

h.g. wells
Rs. 159
Of Mice And Men...

[Paperback-2020]

john steinbeck
Rs. 200
Boorha Aur Samu...

[Paperback-2015]

ernest hemingway
Rs. 159
The Old Man And...

[Paperback-2015]

ernest hemingway
Rs. 159
Animal Farm...

[Paperback-2014]

george orwell
Rs. 159
1984...

[Paperback-2015]

george orwell
Rs. 239
The Prophet...

[Paperback-2013]

khalil gibran
Rs. 120
For Whom The Be...

[Paperback-2017]

ernest hemingway
Rs. 316
View All